DeTox Day 14 – Matters of Taste posted by The Daily Post

When was the last time a movie, a book, or a television show left you cold despite all your friends (and/or all the critics) raving about it? What was it that made you go against the critical consensus? 

Weeds.

My Biological Psychology Professor raved about it in class.  Then a friend on Facebook was all excited about it and wanted me to watch.

I’m a Joss Whedon girl.  I like my entertainment to have characters with brains and heart and consideration.

Weeds had stupid, short-sighted, selfish, irresponsible, greedy people in it.  I could have glimpses of empathy for them, but by the end of the second season, that was all gone.  I hated every single character, especially the lead, Nancy Botwin.  I hated her kids.  I hated her friends.  I hated her associates.  I hated her choices.

I did not want any of them in my home for another moment.  We skipped to the finale, and that only made it worse.  Just awful.  No sense of responsibility for the chaos and death she created with her every choice.  No consequences.

At least Buffy took responsibility when she screwed up.

In other news – in-laws are visiting for a few days, so I am going to be canning the next few posts for scheduled delivery.  Back on Sunday.

One thought on “DeTox Day 14 – Matters of Taste posted by The Daily Post”

Leave a Reply

